Press Release

June 7, 2021

Media relations
Fonda Berosini
Disney Entertainment, Networks
Share this release

ABC Owned Television Stations Drops the First Two Episodes of Its ‘Pride’ ‘Our America’ Streaming Special Dedicated to the Transgender Community Ahead of the Full Release

‘Our America: Who I’m Meant To Be’ Premieres Today, June 7, Across the Station Group’s Free News Apps and 32 Connected TV Apps on Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV, Android TV and Roku

View ‘Honey Mahogany’ Episode here

 View ‘Kaylee Harris’ Episode here

ABC Owned Television Stations announced today, MONDAY, JUNE 7, that thefirst two-episodes of the “Our America: Who I’m Meant to Be” docuseriesare now available on its 32 connected TV apps across streaming platforms Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV, Android TV and Roku. The Pride special is an eight-episode short documentary series dedicated to amplifying the voices of transgender communities across America through first-person narratives.

The first two episodes, available now, tell the stories of Honey Mahogany, one of the co-founders of the Transgender District in San Francisco and first transgender person elected to serve in the San Francisco Democratic Party; and Kaylee Harris, who struggled with gender dysphoria and was able to undergo gender hormone therapy during the pandemic in the privacy of her home.

The full slate of “Our America: Who I’m Meant to Be” episodes will be made available for viewers beginning June 21 on the station group’s connected TV apps.  “Who I’m Meant to Be” is executive produced by ABC Owned Television Stations’ race and culture executive producers Nzinga Blake, Porsha Grant and Mariel Myers.

Viewers can stream the special on ABC Owned Television Stations’ free news apps: ABC7/WABC-TV New YorkABC7/KABC-TV Los AngelesABC7/WLS-TV Chicago6ABC/WPVI-TV PhiladelphiaABC7/KGO-TV San Francisco, ABC13/KTRK-TV HoustonABC11/WTVD-TV Raleigh-Durham, and ABC30/KFSN-TV Fresno and connected TV Apps on streaming platforms Fire TV, Android TV, Apple TV, and Roku.

About ABC Owned Television Stations
Disney Media Entertainment & Distribution’s eight owned ABC stations are multiplatform leaders in local news and information. Collectively No. 1 across all U.S. television, reaching 23% of households and more than 34 million Total Viewers and 62 million digital visitors a month, the eight stations are comprised of WABC-TV New York, KABC-TV Los Angeles, WLS-TV Chicago, WPVI-TV Philadelphia, KGO-TV San Francisco, KTRK-TV Houston, WTVD-TV Raleigh-Durham and KFSN-TV Fresno. The stations also deliver locally sourced storytelling to more than 17 million viewers across America through its multiplatform lifestyle network, Localish. In 2020, the stations received five Broadcast & Cable awards, including in the 2020 Best in Local TV Awards category as Station Group of the Year for its innovative and next-generation news reporting, and in the major market category for 2020: Best News Coverage, Best Digital Multiplatform or Website, Best Investigative Reporting Station Group and Best Public Affairs Programming, illustrating the group’s strength and ever-increasing growth and reach in the multiplatform space.